Knowlege base

Users Permissions

Article ID: 186
Last updated: 21 Nov, 2019

The “Modify Users Permissions” page lets you decide who can access specific features or specific application. For example, a user can have administrative rights for StoneFax but may not be authorized to restart the Call Recording engine. Permissions can be set for each user and for each IAS application.

Permissions range from 1 (low) to 10 (high). When a user has permission 1 (“No access”) for an application, he/she cannot see it in the IAS menu after login. Permission 10 (“Complete management”) enables administrative access.

For information about each value meaning for a specific application, please refer to its description in this guide.

System Management permissions

Starting from Imagicle Rel 2020.Winter.1, it has been introduced a System Management permissions entry, replacing previous Users Management permissions. System Management includes five permission levels:

  • (1) Base access
  • (6) Department users supervisor (Tenant users supervisor, if multi-tenant)
  • (7) Department users manager (Tenant users supervisor, if multi-tenant)
  • (9) Complete users management
  • (10) Complete management

Department/Tenant users supervisor

System Management's level 6 can view and modify those users belonging to own department (for single-tentant) or own tenant (for multi-tenant). All fields are changable, but Department and List of additional departments. These are read-only fields.

Level 6 supervisor can also assing or modify permission levels of another user, with the following limitations:

  • System Management level can be changed between with any entry between (1) e (6). If the user has already a higher permission level (like 7 or 9), it can be selected too. 
  • Other applications' levels can be changed to any value, when single-tenant is in place, or it can be changed between lowest level to actual logged in user's level for the relevant application, when multi-tenant is in place. 

Users export to CSV/XML is available, for own department/tenant users only.

Adding, deleting or importing new users from external sources is denied at this level, including synch settings/rules.

Department/Tenant users manager

System Management's level 7 inheritates all permissions of level 6 supervisor, plus the possibility to delete or manually add own department/tenant users. New users are automatically assigned to own department/tenant, therefore Department and List of additional departments fields are read-only.

Importing new users from external sources is still denied at this level, including synch settings/rules.

Complete users management

System Management's level 9 grants full visibility of all users, including adding/modifying/deleting any IAS user, import them from an external source and amend synch settings/rules. All users' fields are changable, including Department and List of additional departments. Level 9 users manager can also assign any permission level, for any application, except level (10) System Management.

Level 9 users manager can't access to IAS administration menus and he/she doesn't have the permission to invoke administrative APIs to amend IAS system parameters.

Complete management

System Management's level 10 inheritates all permissions of level 9 users manager, plus the possibility to assign level 10 System Management permission to all users, full access granted to IAS administration menus and administrative APIs to amend IAS system parameters.

Users with previous legacy Users management's level 6 (Edit tenant users) are migrated during IAS update to System Management level 7 (Department/Tenant users manager).

Changing default permissions

If you leave an entry set to “[Default for application]”, the users' permissions will be derived by default values. You can edit them by selecting the Modify Default Permissions link on the top of the page.

In this way you could grant or revoke access to an application to all the users at a time. If you set a specific permission for a given user, this will override the default. The override will not be affected when you change the default permissions for all users.

Article ID: 186
Last updated: 21 Nov, 2019
Revision: 2
Views: 939
Print Export to PDF Subscribe Share
This article was:  
Prev   Next
The Main Administrator     Sync Users with External Sources