Knowlege base

How to remove users no longer available in import source

Article ID: 721
Last updated: 22 Nov, 2019

Applies to:

Imagicle Application Suite ver. 2019.Summer.1.h2 or newer

Description

During a IAS users' synch, you can automatically remove all those "synched" users no longer available into the import source, also when deleted user is the last one or when there are no additional users coming from source. Local users are not removed.

This feature is by default disable and it requires a change into a setting file, from file system.

"Synched " users are all those users with Active Directory Username and Domain populated, coming from a previous synchronization or manually inserted or imported from a CSV file. These users are subjected to synchronization.

On the other end, all users with empty Active Directory Username and Domain are considered Local users.

How to remove users no longer available in import source

  • Please access to IAS file system through a Remote Desktop session
  • Edit this file: C:\Program Files (x86)\StonevoiceAS\Apps\Fw\Settings\FW.Sync.Engine.config.xml
  • If the file doesn't exist, pls. create it with UTF-8 encoding.
  • Add the following line:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<configuration version="1.0.1.0">
<preference key="sync.dbmerge.RemoveLocalUsersIfNotContainedInSynchronizedSources" value="true" />
</configuration>

  • Keep in mind that default value is "false", which means synch happens in the usual way, like below described:

Setting = false

  • 1st case: while importing users for a specific domain and last user for that domain is deleted in source, relevant IAS user is not deleted
  • 2nd case: If you create an alternative UPN on AD source, assigned to some users, and later on you revert all users to same primary UPN, the synch does not remove alternative UPN's users, while users with primary UPN are added. End result is some users duplications, when associated to previous alternative UPN
  • 3rd case: If you remove all users from source or you change LDAP filter in import source so no users are imported, end result is "synched" users still present in IAS users' list

Setting = true

  • 1st case: while importing users for a specific domain and last user for that domain is deleted in source, relevant IAS user is deleted, too
  • 2nd case: If you create an alternative UPN on AD source, assigned to some users, and later on you revert all users to same primary UPN, the synch removes alternative UPN's users, while users with primary UPN are added. End result is no duplications at all 
  • 3rd case: If you remove all users from source or you change LDAP filter in import source so no users are imported, end result is all "synched" users are removed.
Article ID: 721
Last updated: 22 Nov, 2019
Revision: 2
Views: 52
Print Export to PDF Subscribe Share
This article was:  
Prev   Next
How to remove HTTP access to Imagicle Application Suite     Notifications (mail / snmp trap) related to MAM events may no...